When do you write?

03/18/2020

Finding the time to write can be challenging, and there are times when it seems impossible. But if you are serious about writing, then making time to write is essential. 


Every successful author has a schedule for writing:

Haruki Murakami said 'When I'm in writing mode for a novel, I get up at four a.m. and work for five to six hours. In the afternoon, I run for ten kilometers or swim for fifteen hundred meters (or do both), then I read a bit and listen to some music. I go to bed at nine p.m.'

Stephen King aims to write 6 pages a day, and says: '"Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us get up and go to work.'

E.B. White once said: "A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper."

You can read more about the writing routines of different authors in this blog: https://medium.com/the-mission/the-daily-routine-of-20-famous-writers-and-how-you-can-use-them-to-succeed-1603f52fbb77

I can hear you saying, 'yeah, but they don't have to have a day job too'. Actually, Stephen King started writing when he had a day job, as did many other writers. if you are serious about writing, then you need to build writing time into your schedule. 

I find my mind is at its sharpest first thing in the morning, so I tend to write early, and you may well find that there is a time of day that works better for you, and that is easier to fit in. 

When you write is not important, but what is important is that you find the time to write, and build it into every day. 


© 2018 Denice Penrose. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started