Writing Inspiration: Reading about Writing

07/17/2020

Another way to find inspiration for writing is to read the stories of other writers. A good, and simple,  place to start is a search online for your favourite author, and to read about their journey. 

However, if you want to take it further, many authors have published a book about writing. There was a twitter thread a while ago, which asked writers to name their favourite book about writing.  One of the top two recommendations is the one I usually recommend:

On Writing, by Stephen King

I always think if you're going to take writing advice, it's good to get it from an expert. As one of the most successful writers around, there is little doubt that Stephen King has a lot of expertise to offer. His book doesn't disappoint, and I found it both encouraging and enlightening. 

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

This was another one that came up frequently in the twitter list of best books on writing, and I bought it. I haven't finished reading it, but I am enjoying it. Amazon says 'Bird by Bird is the bible of writing guides - a wry, honest, down-to-earth book that has never stopped selling since it was first published in the United States in the 1990s. Bestselling novelist and memoirist Anne Lamott distils what she's learned over years of trial and error. Beautifully written, wise and immensely helpful, this is the book for all serious writers and writers-to-be.'

How I Write by Janet Evanovich

I'm a big fan of the Stephanie Plum novels, and so this is another one I've bought and am reading. Janet Evanovich is a best selling author, and if you like your crime stories quirky, then she is the best around. 

Writing for Children by Pamela Cleaver

If you have a particular genre you want to use, then it's worth considering a book by a well known author in that genre. This book by Pamela Cleaver is filled with practical advice, and information on writing for children. 

Writer to Writer by Brock and Brodie Thoene

This was the first book I read about writing, and I read it shortly after reading Brodie Theone's books, and finding them riveting - well researched, and well written. It is very practical, and has lots of ideas and advice, some of which has stayed with me. 

Of necessity, the list I've included here is subjective - these are the books I have found helpful. You may well have others that you prefer. What matters is not agreeing or disagreeing with my list, but rather finding inspiration from the stories of other writers. 

When I'm feeling uninspired, reading about the journey of other writers helps restore my confidence, but also encourages me, and inspires me to get back to my computer and WIP again. 

Happy writing. 

© 2018 Denice Penrose. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started