Writers & Editors: a love/ hate relationship

02/06/2017

I recently read a post from a Facebook reader's group, where a publisher posted an advert looking for editors of their work. So far, so good. However, they were only looking for people who 'love to read' who'd be willing to read and point out the odd mistake when they spot it. The only payment offered was the joy of reading.

For me, it inspired disgust on two levels: it trivialised and undervalued the work of a good editor, and as a writer it put me off ever approaching them with any of my work, as their attitude indicates a lack of interest in treating author's submissions seriously, but equally over-rates the ability of their readers - judging by some Facebook posts, their grasp of grammar is often tenuous!

As a writer, having someone change the words I've carefully crafted is much like watching someone dissect your careful creation - it hurts like hell! But, what if that dissection is in the form of surgery that removes something that doesn't belong, and brings healing and wholeness? Then we respect the need for it.

This is why I believe a writer needs a good editor:

- They offer an objective view of your work, and will spot things you have missed such as inconsistencies in the story

- They'll catch grammatical errors and spelling mistakes, ensuring your work is not error ridden

- They can show you how to improve your work - passages to move around, wording to change or cut, characters to develop, plot gaps to fill.

- They know what sells, and how best to present your work. If you're serious about making a career out of writing, you need help making sure your work is marketable.

- Good, constructive feedback can give you new ideas, and new ways to improve and tell your story.

I firmly believe that the lack of proper editing is one of the coffin nails of self publishing - people become disillusioned when they buy poorly written work, or work that is not properly crafted, or full of errors. Not only does it destroy your reputation as a writer, but it will discourage readers from buying your work, and that of others. Self publish if you must, but only after you've employed an editor to go over your work.

The war between writers and editors is long standing, and the (perhaps apocryphal) tale is told of the author who rejected all changes writing "stet the whole damn thing" on his manuscript because he did't like the editing. No one likes having their work tampered with, but a sign of maturity as a writer is to be able to endure the process, and come through with a polished, published piece of work.

Editors are not infallible - they edit for their specific markets, and have their own foibles and quirks. I've learned to take any feedback they give me, evaluate it and applied it. There have also been cases where I disagreed completely, and then I have not taken their advice, and found another editor publish the piece.

I've had editors change bits of my work that I really liked, and I wasn't happy with the result. But, more often than not, I've found that taking on board their advice and suggestions has improved my work, and helped me grow as a writer. A good writer needs and heeds a good editor. 

© 2018 Denice Penrose. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started